Breakfast: more glam than porridge, and much tastier

I was stumped at breakfast.

Before my tonsillectomy, every morning of every day, I used to eat of a couple of tablespoons of porridge oats and another couple of granola (Waitrose do a really good nutty one), covered in some Alpro pouring yoghurt which, if like me you’re not into dairy, is a pretty good replacement for the real thing. Sometimes, I would add a chopped pear, apple or banana but usually that was it. It was healthy and filling and I loved it.

Since getting the tonsils whipped out and eating next to nothing for over a week, I am finding it hard to get back to my good old breakfast habits.

This morning, I thought I would take charge and get back to it. But as I watched the boyfriend pour himself the last of the granola, I knew it was not to be. Granted, we had porridge oats, but no fruit and frankly, I was not tempted.

And then I remembered this (below) amazing chocolate spread my Dad brought over from Paris at the weekend. I reached into the cupboard for it, and a teaspoon.

Oh dear (in a good way).

Image

If you can’t read the small print, it is from l’Atelier Du Chocolat in France which has several branches and, if you like chocolate as much as I do and are ever over there, is probably worth a visit. If you want to buy this stuff (WARNING: you risk an accident such as mine this morning) and can’t read French, it is chocolate spread with hazelnuts, coriander and lemon.

This delectable spread is a step up from Nutella and although the coriander and lemon flavouring is pretty mild, it is also probably what saved me from eating the entire pot. Phew.

And my breakfast plans for tomorrow? Well, I doubt I will have time to pop to Waitrose and pick up some more granola by then. At best I have almost 24 hours to carefully come up with a chocolate-free menu and at worst I’m pretty sure there are some kippers in the freezer.

About Hunter Mum

Two young babes in arms, I am a survivor in the jungle of London and a lover of most things chocolate...Please join me on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

